For The Love Of A Crow

I lay myself open at your feet
Raw and bleeding

You can pick at me if you want

You snip small trangles of me
Out
Swallow them whole

It hurts
In a good way
Because
You’re there
For an instant

Regarding me warmly with your intelligent dark eyes
I love you
I love you
I love you

Which one of us isn’t saying it?
That hurts too

Snip bloody triangles
Swallow them down
Away you fly
Without explanation

I’ve always had an affinity for corvids
And the way they can leave the scene
Without regard

I can feel the high of you
Just before the plummet of your vacuum
When the air pops with your sudden absence
And I can’t find breath around it

I close my throat
Holding in what precious air I have left
Hoping it’s enough to hold me
Until the high of you comes back with a fresh supply

I lay myself open at your feet
Raw and bleeding

I’ve always had an affinity for corvids
Even though their sudden flight
without regard
leaves me cold

Leave a comment